This site uses cookies

Membership and Fellowship of the EAC

Membership of the EAC

In May 2014, the ECU General Council approved a motion such that from 1 January 2015, membership of the EAC is open to all chiropractors who are full members of ECU member national associations, full time faculty members of ECCE-accredited educational institutions and individual members of the ECU.

This new pan-ECU membership of the EAC replaces the previous structure whereby joining the EAC required an additional subscription for Members or Fellows.

Membership of the EAC confers the following benefits:

  • Access to Special Interest Groups
  • Access to EAC educational resources
  • Resources to Graduate Education Programme resources
  • Clinical updates from special interest groups
  • CPD online recording system

Fellowship (FEAC)

Members of the EAC may apply to the Court of Electors (CoE) for elevation to Fellowship status. Fellowship of the EAC reflects an advanced level of education and a commitment to the aims and objectives of the EAC.

Fellows must fulfil and commit to the following criteria for Fellowship:

Evidence of advanced educational status (Post-Graduate Masters level award or above);
Fellow application is made to the Court of Electors (or, upon approval of the CoE, to the Registrar), prior to 1st April in any given year;
Provisional recommendation for Fellowship from the Registrar to the CoE consequent upon inspection of all relevant supporting documentation;
Fulfilment of any and all CPD requirements set by the EAC Governing Council, with documentary evidence thereof;
Compliance with the ECU Code of Good Practice;
Fellows of the EAC may use the designation FEAC. All decisions of the CoE are final. Fellows may terminate his/her Fellowship by written resignation. The CoE may terminate a Fellowship in cases where the requirements for maintenance of Fellowship have not been upheld or where a Fellow been found guilty of professional misconduct or malpractice.

Chiropractors with advanced MSc or PhD in all related health sciences, such as sports or public health, are eligible to apply for Fellowship and serve on SIG committees in their field of expertise. Below are examples of advanced continued education that qualifies for Fellowship:

MSc Advanced Professional Practice (APP) Clinical Sciences, AECC University College
MSc APP Functional Musculoskeletal Health, AECC University College
MSc APP Paediatric Musculoskeletal Health, AECC University College
MSc Medical Ultrasound, AECC University College
MSc Medical Education, Dundee
MSc Medical Education, Bern
MSc Health Education, Maastricht
MSc in Evidence-Based Health Care, Oxford University
MSc Research in Health Practice, Bath
MSc Advanced Musculoskeletal Research and Practice, University of East Anglia
MSc Neurosciences, VU University Amsterdam
MSc in the Clinical Management of Pain, Edinburgh