This site uses cookies

General Council

General Council

The General Council comprises one representative from each of the ECU’s 23 member national associations.

Its role is to ratify and approve policy and strategic proposals brought before it by the Executive Council. It has sovereignty and has the power to overrule any decision made on any other Committee or Council

With the exception of financial votes (which are weighted according to the population of chiropractors in a country), each member of the GC has one vote on all other voting matters.

The General Council meets twice each year, once in Spring on the Wednesday immediately prior to the ECU Convention, and once in the Fall. The Spring meeting incorporates the election of members of the Executive Council.

The ECU encourages observers to its General Council meetings. These are often the Secretariats of ECU Members, but also include the European representatives of the World Federation of Chiropractic, World Congress of Chiropractic Students and Candidate ECU members.


Research council

The ECU supports evidence-based practice and recognises that both society and the chiropractic profession benefit from research.

The ECU Research Council considers applications for financial support and distributes funds to institution-based and practice-based researchers.

In considering applications, the Research Council takes account of the relevance of the project to the chiropractic profession, the strength of the research protocol, the methodological validity and the likely impact on the body of knowledge within the profession.

The deadline for the receipt of funding applications is February 1 of each year. The Research Council meets in April to consider applications and make recommendations for funding to the General Council for ratification at its annual May meeting.

Awards for outstanding research are presented each year at the ECU Convention.

The Chair of the ECU Research Council is Dr Sidney Rubinstein DC, PhD.

European Academy of Chiropractic

The European Academy of Chiropractic (EAC) is a committee of the ECU concerned with postgraduate education and continuing professional development.

Formerly the Academic Council, the EAC was founded in 2007 by a committee led by Dr Jean Robert. Its aim is to facilitate graduate education and postgraduate continuing professional development.

The EAC has a Governing Council led by a Dean and supported by a Director of Academic Affairs, Chair of the Research Council, and the Academic Convention Organiser. The ECU President and Secretary-General also have seats on the Council. The Governing Council is supported by an academic affairs secretary and an administrator.

A Court of Electors considers membership status of EAC members. The Court of Electors may confer Fellowship status on any ECU chiropractor considered to have outstanding academic qualifications in a particular area of chiropractic.

The EAC has a number of Special Interest Groups (SiGs), which promote academic development and postgraduate learning in a distinct area of chiropractic practice. The SiGs are:

  • Clinical Chiropractic
  • Diagnostic Imaging
  • Education
  • Neurology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Paediatrics
  • Research
  • Sports Chiropractic

The current EAC Governing Council:
Dean – Lise Lothe
Director of Academic Affairs – Nicoline Lambers
Registrar – David Newell
Research Council Chair – Sidney Rubinstein
Academic Convention Organiser – Thomas Lauvsnes
Secretary General – Ian Beesley
ECU President – Øystein Ogre

EAC Administrator – Claire Wilmot

Chiropractic and Manual Therapies

The EAC jointly sponsors the online open-access journal Chiropractic and Manual Therapies with the Chiropractic and Osteopathic College of Australasia (COCA), the Royal College of Chiropractors (RCC) and NIKKB.

The Chiropractic and Manual Therapies editorial staff invite manuscripts for publication that have clinical relevance to chiropractors, manual therapists and related health professionals.

The Editor-in-Chief of Chiropractic and Manual Therapies is Dr Bruce Walker DC, MPH. Its Associate Editors are Professor Charlotte Leboeuf-Yde DC, PhD, MPH and Dr Simon French DC, PhD.

Chiropractic and Manual Therapies can be accessed at

EU Affairs

  • To promote chiropractic as a health profession at the level of the European Parliament and its related bodies.
  • To pursue harmonisation of the profession by legal recognition within all Member States.
  • To support the professional mobility of chiropractors within EU Member States, with particular reference to Directive 2011/24 as it relates to patients’ rights in cross-border healthcare.
  • To lobby for reimbursement of chiropractic fees for patients receiving care when in other Member States.
  • To participate in, and adopt the values of, the European Public Health Alliance.
  • To promote the adoption of the CEN Standard by Member States as the minimum requirement for the delivery of chiropractic services
  • To participate in the European Health Policy Forum in matters relevant to the chiropractic profession.