This site uses cookies

Who We Are

The ECU is a federation of 22 European national chiropractic associations. It exists to promote the chiropractic profession in Europe through support and facilitation of research, education and political representation.

The ECU was founded in 1932 in London by the national associations of Great Britain, Belgium, Sweden and Switzerland. Throughout the twentieth century, chiropractic became increasingly popular and numbers of chiropractors increased significantly. It is now regulated in a number of European nations and it is ECU policy to have the profession regulated in all ECU member nations; in some countries chiropractic is a regular part of mainstream health care

By 2022, the ECU had reached a total of 22 members. During its history it has supported the founding and development of educational programmes throughout the continent. It continues to work in developing the profession with the aim of universal coverage across all European nations.

The ECU is registered in the Netherlands and administered by a secretariat comprising a Secretary General and an Executive Administrator. An Executive Council is responsible for leading the Union on a strategic basis, including the development of proposals and policy. A General Council representing all ECU members ratifies and approves decisions, including the awarding of financial grants.